Sunday, 27 September 2015

~Moto2 Race Day action!!~

The Moto2 race kicked off this morning with Sam Lowes taking the lead before a red flag was shown after Dominique Aegerter was taken out by Xavier Simeon crashed out at turn 15.
The race was restarted but shortened to 15 laps. Tito Rabat led from pole position with Alex Rins beside him in second. Johann Zarco - looking to win his first Moto2 championship at this round - could not keep pace with the front runners and was 1.201 seconds slower than race leader Rins with 11 laps to go! Zarco needed to win the race and Tito Rabat to finish lower than second for him to secure the championship.
Rabat put in a stellar performance as he stalked Alex Rins waiting to make his move for the lead position. With 8 laps remaining Rabat took the lead and set a new record lap time of 1"52"800 . This pulsating head to head battle continued as Rins refused to lie down and accept the runner up position. With 4 laps remaining .2 of a second was all that separated both riders. The gap back to Sam Lowes in third was 3.176 seconds.
Rins slides up the inside of Rabat
Rins powered around the track to a 1"52"767 as he tried with every ounce of strength to pass Rabat. Rins overtook Rabat on the second last lap but Rabat snapped straight back at him and refused to be pushed down a position. Rins followed closely down the 0.6 mile back straight and with two corners to go these two were nearly touching. Rabat crossed the line first for a well deserved victory and the Frenchman Zarco will have to wait another 2 weeks until Motegi to try wrap up his maiden Moto2 championship.

Tito Rabat holds off Alex Rins to claim victory at Aragon

Final Race Standings - Moto2 Aragon 2015

1. Tito Rabat  SPA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (Kalex) 26m 25.125s
2. Alex Rins SPA Paginas Amarillas HP 40 (Kalex) 26m 25.221s
3. Sam Lowes GBR Speed Up Racing (Speed Up) 26m 30.489s
4. Jonas Folger GER AGR Team (Kalex) 26m 32.488s
5. Thomas Luthi SWI Derendinger Racing Interwetten (Kalex) 26m 41.848s
6. Johann Zarco FRA Ajo Motorsport (Kalex) 26m 42.114s
7. Hafizh Syahrin MAL Petronas Raceline Malaysia (Kalex) 26m 42.211s
8. Takaaki Nakagami JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia (Kalex) 26m 43.181s
9. Simone Corsi ITA Forward Racing (Kalex) 26m 43.783s
10. Lorenzo Baldassarri ITA Forward Racing (Kalex) 26m 44.781s
11. Mika Kallio FIN QMMF Racing Team (Speed Up) 26m 45.215s
12. Axel Pons SPA AGR Team (Kalex) 26m 45.347s
13. Sandro Cortese GER Dynavolt Intact GP (Kalex) 26m 46.168s
14. Azlan Shah MAL IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia (Kalex) 26m 47.509s
15. Marcel Schrotter GER Tech 3 (Tech 3) 26m 51.142s
16. Xavi Vierge SPA Tech 3 (Tech 3) 26m 59.589s
17. Randy Krummenacher SWI JIR Racing Team (Kalex) 26m 59.783s
18. Ricard Cardus SPA JPMoto Malaysia (Suter) 26m 59.852s
19. Robin Mulhauser SWI Technomag Racing Interwetten (Kalex) 27m 2.460s
20. Jesko Raffin SWI sports-millions-EMWE-SAG (Kalex) 27m 9.143s
21. Florian Alt GER E-Motion IodaRacing Team (Suter) 27m 9.400s
22. Thitipong Warokorn THA APH PTT The Pizza SAG (Kalex) 27m 9.729s
23. Louis Rossi FRA Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2 (Tech 3) 27m 19.445s
      Federico Fuligni ITA Team Ciatti (Suter) DNF  
     Alex Marquez SPA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (Kalex) DNF
     Julian Simon SPA QMMF Racing Team (Speed Up) DNF
     Edgar Pons SPA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) DNF
     Xavier Simeon BEL Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 (Kalex) DNF
     Luis Salom SPA Paginas Amarillas HP 40 (Kalex) DNF
     Dominique Aegerter SWI Technomag Racing Interwetten (Kalex) DNS


No comments:

Post a Comment